(Mom, please don’t get mad over the title. It’s just me being snarky.)

So, after a long convoluted application process, I’m back in Melb, and starting my PhD on Monday. Of course, everything’s different now, people have graduated and moved on (and out of the country), I miss my family even more now with baby Ollie growing up, and I don’t actually have a place to live. But it’s something I’ve wanted for a long time…to make people call me Doctor. Sure, I won’t exactly be saving lives, or delivering them but I will be preventing horny teenagers and young adults from getting Chlamydia! I hope.

Anyways, to recap my travel experience, even though I’ll go into minute details when I eventually call my parents, the check-in agent at Air Canada in Toronto is an idiot, he tried to charge me $150 for being one kilo over the weight limit of 23 kg. I’d like to point out that the website says that anything over 32kg will be charged for overweight luggage, and I was only at 24. Luckily, my parents were there, and are just going to mail me “Modern Infectious Disease Epidemiology”. When asked, he said that my bags were checked all the way to Melb even though my first point of entry was Sydney. To be fair, one of the flight attendants said the same thing when I got off the plane in Sydney.

It’s hard to make 24 hrs of flying time interesting. I threw up one hour into the 15 hr flight between Vancouver and Sydney, made it to the bathroom in time. Still bored. So I watched Gnomeo & Juliet (or Ga-nomeo, as my sisters like to say), How to Train Your Dragon (surprisingly good, I love sarcastic Vikings), Yogi Bear (predictably cheesy) and sadly, No Strings Attached (just predictable… I forgot Unstoppable was an option), as well as a couple of episodes of The Good Wife, one of my favourite shows. From Toronto to Vancouver, the pilot kept us updated on Game 1 between the Vancouver Canucks and Boston Bruins. There was a gap between the English and French announcements of the score, kind of funny to me, like the French were an afterthought. And of course, the entire cabin clapped when Vancouver won. A lot of the employees at the Vancouver airport were wearing Canucks gear, will Pearson employees ever have that chance?

Finally, I get into Kingsford Smith Airport in Sydney. Go through customs, collect bags, get checked out by sniffer beagle who decides to do some impromptu spirals, and may have smelled Daisy on my jacket, and then have to transfer to another terminal, dragging 2 pieces of luggage, my backpack with laptop, purse and camera bag. Missed my flight by about 10 minutes, which I saw was still boarding when I got off the shuttle bus. Oh well, I was pretty stressed at this point, and used to extra time to just sit, read and calm down. And I ate a sausage roll, I figured that was a symbol that I was really back in Aus.

Now, I’m just hanging in the library using the internet. I’m away from the world for 3 days and everything happens – Jay Triano is out as the coach of the Raptors, Dallas wins Game 2, and Shaq retires. Will be limited until I get into my own place.

Later, peeps.

