Went with a couple of fellow Canadians to Melbourne Zoo. While I think that the Healesville Sanctuary is much better for seeing native Aussie animals, the zoo has a much more diverse collection of animals. Lots of African mammals, including giraffes, gorillas, elephants, lions and many other primates. Was a little disappointed in their “Big Cats” exhibit as the animals had cages that were much too small. The native animals walkabout had an underground wombat viewing centre including a mock cave, which I tried to climb in, got scared from the darkness and bumped my head on the way out.

I may have annoyed my fellow visiters by spouting facts about virtually every animal (except the reptiles, don’t care too much for snakes) based on what I learned from taking mammalogy twice (the second time, I was a tutor). However, when it’s an echidna and not a porcupine, there are some fundamental differences. Like one lays eggs and the other doesn’t.

Also, went to the Queen Victoria Market for the first time and fell in love with it instantly. What can I say, I’m a sucker for cheap clothing and found some beautiful art along the way. It also has a big food market, similar to St. Lawrence Market in Toronto. Much cheaper than the regular supermarkets. Ended up buying the best tasting Camembert i’ve ever tried (Although, I think I might be mixing it up with Brie, in which case, I’ve never tried Camembert before). It’s delicious, it’s mild, soft and it’s from Tasmania, what’s not to like?   

On a more scholarly note, my presentation for Principles and Practices of Public Health was not as big a train wreck as I thought it would be.  I thought this presentation was going to be a disaster, because one student didn’t do his work until the day of the presentation. And it went ok. Now I just have to write my first masters-level paper.

