Still in orientation this week but I seemed to have my enrolment sorted out. Spent all of today in workshops, for lack of a better word. Went over Aussie culture and slang, some academic tips and tried to snag as much free stuff at the student services carnival. Hate to say it, but their carnival is much better than the club days at Guelph. They gave away free popcorn and iced tea! (ok not very much but it’s something).

In the Aussie culture workshop, we were split into groups of 8 or 9 people and had to discuss differences between our own cultures and Aussie culture. It was a fairly diverse group, had people from China, Indonesia, Austria, Iceland, France, and me. Of course, everyone thinks I’m from China until they hear me speak. Then they get really confused, the guy from Iceland thought I had an American accent. I knew I should have worn my Canada t-shirt (I should get one that says Roots underneath). A girl from Indonesia asked if Canada was a cold city, then asked if we were near the Antarctic (to be fair, English is her second language). Aussies drive on the left side (the “wrong” side) and have a tendency to walk on the left side as well. Although, it seems sometimes they can’t make up their minds and walk on the right. Someone commented that it seemed that the pigeons walk on the left too.

The Aussie slang seminar was fun too. I’ve had a couple of moments where I see/hear a word and I don’t understand it. The word “local” was on one of my forms, means address, but I asked the Aussie girl next to me and she said that they generally just put address. It’s like the uni (that’s what Aussies call university) goes out of their way to teach you the lingo. Some of them are already known bc of popular culture or it’s a trickle down from the Brits like barbie or bugger off, or ahem, root.
Anyways, I’m putting a few of the phrases we learned today.

under the pump= under pressure
tickets on yourself= think you are superior to everyone else
short black= espresso
flat white= espresso with milk
to have a captain cook= to have a look
get on like a house on fire= feel comfortable quickly with a stranger
like a stunned mullet= dazed and confused (the lecturer asked if anyone knew what a mullet was and I said yes, thinking of the haircut rather than the fish but he never picked up on that)
charge like a wounded bull= set very high prices
arvo= afternoon
bludge= relaxed, taking it easy
sangers= sausages
dog’s breakfast= messy
coldies/tinnies= beer

